Green Gables, PEI.

When I was a kid, I read ‘Anne of Green Gables’ and fell in love.

“I’m going to go there one day,” I told my mother.
“You have no idea how far away that is,” she replied.
“I don’t care. I’m going. You watch me.”

A few decades later, that’s exactly what I did.  Mum had passed away by that time, but I like to think she was looking down from heaven and saying, “She always was a determined child…”

2015-10-04 15.08.02

This is the house that inspired L.M. Montgomery to create Green Gables.  She used to visit as a child, and it was the model for the home of Matthew, Marilla and then Anne.

It has been lovingly restored to become a museum, with rooms set out as they would have been for the characters in the beloved books.

The degree of detail in these rooms is delightful. Anne’s room even has a broken slate, reminiscent of the time Anne broke hers over Gilbert Blythe’s head.

Outside, you can walk down ‘Lover’s Lane’ and visit ‘The Haunted Forest’ – places in the book that were based on real places around this house.

Visiting Green Gables was an emotional experience for me: not just because of my childhood dream coming true, but for being that much closer to a story and characters that I’ve loved all my life.
I was really glad to share the experience with my brother, Sean, and my dear friend Audrey.

And honestly… you can’t really get more Canadian than Green Gables. Can you?

2015-10-04 15.06.12

 

 

Leave a Reply

