Port Dalhousie, ON.

Port Dalhousie sits on Lake Ontario near, St Catharine’s, ON. It’s a gorgeous place with a beautiful sandy beach, marina and waterfront area that boasts not one, but two, lighthouses. It also has a carousel with a calliope, fully restored to it’s early 20th century grandeur.

We visited late in the afternoon on a Friday, so the carousel was closed. We walked along the pier in golden autumn sunshine and watched the sailboats, fishermen in dinghies and windsurfers enjoying the beautiful weather.

2015-09-25 17.11.35 Port Dalhousie, St Catherine, ON

2015-09-25 17.22.45 Port Dalhousie, St Catherine, ON

This is a really pretty spot. It has the feel of one of those idyllic towns set by a beach or lake where people flock in summer, and where fishermen and seagulls make up most of the population the rest of the time.

2015-09-25 17.36.44 Port Dalhousie, St Catherine, ON

After walking along the pier, we sat on the beach and had the most Canadian of sandwiches: crusty white bread, old cheddar and Montreal smoked beef with mustard. If you’ve never had Montreal smoked meat, you don’t know what you’re missing. Those sandwiches might have looked humble, but they were incredibly good!

2015-09-25 17.34.51 Port Dalhousie, St Catherine, ON

Our picnic was attended by a lone seagull and a very attentive wasp. Thankfully, we did not provide dinner for either of them.

Having just finished winter in south-eastern Australia, this was my first opportunity to enjoy time on a beach. It felt so good to get my bare feet into the warm sand and squidge it between my toes.

Then we performed two rituals that would be repeated in various other places on my trip: Sean and I took one selfie (so it had to be good!) and then I took a picture of my feet as I stood in the cold water of Lake Ontario, just so I could say (and prove) that I had.

Let me tell you, it may have been the tail end of summer, but that water was cold. Sean said I was brave, but he didn’t realise how used I am to cold water at the beach at home in Victoria, where there’s not a lot except cold water and penguins between us and Antarctica.

While I was standing at the water’s edge, I saw a sailboat quite a way out on the lake. I wasn’t sure of my new camera’s capabilities, so I thought I’d try to see if I could get a clear shot. When we got back to Sean’s and loaded the pictures onto the computer, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing: my little Nikon had not only captured the sailboat, it had shot right across the lake and picked up the skyline of Toronto, which we hadn’t even noticed when looking at the horizon. Aces!

2015-09-25 17.28.14

Although we didn’t get to ride the carousel, we drove home feeling very happy after such a gorgeous afternoon.

Tune in for the next exciting episode, where you find out the answers to the burning question on everyone’s mind right now: did they, or did they not, return another day to ride the carousel?

Most of this post appeared originally on my Maple Leaf Aussie, Adrift on the Wind blog in September, 2015. 

3 thoughts on “Port Dalhousie, ON.

Leave a Reply

